2019 – 2020 Residency Awards

The residency class of 2019-2020 started a new tradition of awarding UAMS Pharmacy employees that had a significant impact on their residency year. They chose Preceptor, Inpatient Pharmacist, and Inpatient Pharmacy Technician of the Year. Below are the results and the residents commentary.

Pharmacy Technician of the Year: Mary Payne

Mary has been such a pleasure to work with over the past year. Every day that we walked into the pharmacy, she had a smile on her face and would stop whatever she was doing to just ask how our day was going. We knew that we could always go to Mary with any question because she pretty much knows everything that goes on at the pharmacy and if she didn’t she would make sure she helped us find the answer. She is just marvelous, darling! 

Winner Tech of the Year
Pictured (L-R): Kayla Leathem, Mary Payne, Brannon Hill, Sarah Eldred

Pharmacist of the Year: Erin Puryear

Erin is a great communicator and her approachability has made her an exceptional teacher and trainer for new students and pharmacists. She acts as a role model by being the first person to volunteer to implement any changes in the pharmacy and is constantly looking for ways to improve how the pharmacy functions.  She goes above and beyond with following up with any problem or question that may come up to make sure that the job gets finished. Her positive attitude makes her very easy to work with and we have all appreciated her patience as we asked her what must have seemed like an unending amount of questions.

Winner Pharmacist
Pictured (L-R): Kayla Leathem, Erin Puryear (not pictured), Brannon Hill, Sarah Eldred

Preceptor of the Year: Gavin Jones

From the moment we all started at UAMS, we could tell how much Gavin was invested in the residents and the residency program. He has acted as a great source of support for us, both professionally and personally.  He has challenged us this year by pushing us out of our comfort zones and encouraging us to constantly be looking for ways to improve as pharmacy practitioners. He is a strong advocate for pharmacy and has taken on many roles during this residency year: preceptor, mentor, journal club/case presentation coordinator, joke board contributor.

Winner Preceptor
Pictured (L-R): Brannon Hill, Gavin Jones, Kayla Leathem, Sarah Eldred